Würzburg Hauptbahnhof (Würzburg Main Station) is connected well to the German ICE network and is accessible easily from all over Germany. From here take the tram or the bus - alternatively walk 15 minutes.
Take the highway A3 and exit at "Würzburg-Heidingsfeld" or the highway A7 and exit at "Würzburg/Estenfeld". Follow the signposts to the city center and the Residence. There is a large parking ground directly in front of the Residence. Parking fee is 1.50 Euro per hour (status: 2014).
From Würzburg Main station take the tram (lines 1, 3 and 5) and exit at the station "Dom". From here walk 5 minutes. Alternatively take the bus (lines 12, 14, 20 or 28) and exit at the station "Mainfranken-Theater". From here walk 5 minutes.
From Nürnberg airport take a subway (line U2) to Nürnberg Hauptbahnhof (Nürnberg Main Station) and take an ICE train to Würzburg Hauptbahnhof. From here take the bus or the tram.
Summer 9 am - 6 pm, Winter 10 am - 4:30 pm
The Würzburg Residence Palance is a baroque building at the border of the Würzburg city center. Since 1981 the building and the residence square (Residenzplatz) are part of the UNESCO World Heritage.
The Residence was built between 1719 and 1744 and replaced the Marienberg fortress as the residence of the Würzburg prince-bishops. It was the residence up to the secularization, when the properties of the catholic church were dissolved.
Würzburg Residence Palace (Würzburg Residenz) is a magnum opus of the south german baroque architecture, and reasonably must be mentioned in the same breath with another baroque buildings like Versaille Castle in Paris or Schönbrunn Castle in Vienna. The mandate for planning the castle was given to the architect Balthasar Neumann, who wasn't well known back then (he became very famous later). The speciality is that the entire building resulted of one unique plan. This creates a beautiful homogeneity. Even though the building is large, it's not "monumental", not pompous - rather the opposite: Balthasar Neumann's brilliancy is visible anywhere, and the entire castle seems to be very harmonic and in no case "overcrowded".
One of the highlights is the cantilevered staircase which was planned and built by Balthasar Neumann as well. It shows the world's largest coherent ceiling fresco which was created between 1750 and 1753 by Giovanni Battista Tiepolo. Tiepolo was one of the most important Venetian artists of the baroque and rococo era.
During the great bombing of Würzburg at March 16, 1945, the Residence was destroyed nearly entirely. Particularly the side wings were affected. The staircase and some other chambers were untroubled. After troops of the US Army capturing Würzburg in April 1945 the officer John D. Skilton took care for a rough-and-ready coverage with tarpaulins and later with a provisory roof. If this wouldn't have happened the art treasures which were not "victims" of the bombing would have been destroyed for sure. The restoration took a long time: even in autumn 2006 damages due to rain water resulting on the destruction during World War II have been restored.
Impressive: the garden front is 167 meters long, the side front 97 meters. Totally the Residence has more than 300 chambers.
First of all the Residence is a museum nowadays. It can be viewed during the entire year. There are 40 chambers restored and open for the public.
Between April and October the Residence is opened daily between 9 am and 6 pm; between November and March the opening hours are 10 am till 4:30 pm. Entrance fee is 7,50 Euros (reduced price: 6,50), the entrance into the courtyard behind the Residenz is free (status: 2014). The entrance fee includes a guided tour. German speaking tours start every 30 minutes; english speaking tours start at 11 am and 3 pm between April and October additionally at 4:30 pm.
More Infos: www.residenz-wuerzburg.de/englisch/residenz/index.htm
Escape Address: Residenzplatz, 97070 Würzburg, Würzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Bürgerspital and Juliusspital - two Würzburg wineries which are well-known supraregionally. Both are owned by foundations that take care of old and sick people, and the vineyards bring the needful earnings to fund these activities well. See more info at www.buergerspital.de/wineestate/index.html and www.juliusspital.de/en/index.html
The Würzburg city center with a large pedestrian area and lots of shops and big stores are just a few minutes to walk. Special tip: the "Café Michel" directly at the market place (near Marienkapelle - St. Mary Chapel). The "Strudel" is the house speciality - sweet or hearty. Additionally there are self-made cakes and tarts in a wide choice.
High above the city of Würzburg the "Marienberg fortress" (Festung Marienberg) is visible over a huge distance. Already around the year 1200 there was a castle keep with a deep well. Between 1253 and 1719 the fortress was the domicile of the Würzburg prince-bishops, and thus, the "antecessor" or the Würzburg Residenz. There's a footpath from the city to the fortress, starting directly at the Old Main Bridge (Alte Mainbrücke).